Help Others Understand: share your perspective

I'm a resident assistant for a college dorm and a type one diabetic. I'm doing a informative board on diabetes and how to be more understanding about it. So my questions to you out there: What is something that you never want to hear someone say to you again about your diabetes? What is one thing that you would love for them to know about your diabetes or you as a person with diabetes? I thought it would be nice to have some perspectives other than my own. Thanks in advance for your help!

I feel that general questions regarding the disease is fine and I'm more than willing to help educate someone.  But direct, personally questions - I don't like.  Or of course, someone telling me what I can or can't do or eat, etc...  That's simply annoying.  I  think people should know that diabetes managment is as individual as the person itself.  There are no set rules just guidelines that we try to follow.  And of course, people need to know the difference between T1 & T2. 

What I wouldn't like to ever hear again would be someone asking me if my daughter got T1 because of too much junk food.  Something I would love for them to know would be that my daughter is a beautiful person with a disease.....not a disease with a person!!  Having diabetes does not define who she is.

I like answering questions about diabetes whether they are about daily life or more medical.  I do not like people making drug references/jokes...hard to understand, but after 20 years of diabetes no (person I just met) you are not the first person to think of the joke.

[quote user="jaco1199"]