"Experienced" T1Ds

I was diagnosed T1D in 1965 when I had just had my 14th birthday. Fifty-five years later I count myself as incredibly lucky that I still have relatively good health and am enjoying life. I’m curious to know how other long-termers like me are doing.

4 Likes

Well hi @jdjim good to see you back here. I was diagnosed in the late 70s so you got a couple years on me but we have some truly extraordinary people here too. So I have a little over 40 years experience and I also have “reasonably good” health as well. Great to hear you are well and happy. Cheers!

1 Like

Hey there - I was diagnosed 2 years before you and am working on getting my Joslin medal/pin/badge - I can’t recall what I’m supposed to get but I’ve got something coming to me🤣! I’m waiting on a letter from my cousin who recalls when I was diagnosed.
Have you applied for yours?

1 Like

I have not applied for that, but I will look into it. I did get the 50 year diabetes journey necklace from Lilly a few years ago.

Hi @jdjim, too few members who use this site bother to complete the set-up and place a complete profile on-line for anyone to make a guess at the number of “long-termers” like yourself. Your public profile only shows a user log-in name “jdjim” and doesn’t even include a name by which we can address you.

My guess, to answer you query, is to say that there are well over 100 members on this site with greater than 50 years living with diabetes; several personally known to me. There is one regular poster here who recently received his Joslin 75-year Award.

1 Like

Thanks for the heads-up about my profile, or lack thereof. I just updated it.

1 Like