Driving Laws

Does anyone know what Missouri’s driving laws with diabetes are?

Hi Amanda @AAT1D, why be concerned about driving laws - unnecessarily.
Driving licenses are based on ability to safely operate and sufficient vision. If you possess these two factors you should not receive any opposition. I do strongly recommend that you NEVER drive if/when your glucose level is low or is about to drop. I have been a safe driver for 62 years [next month] and have never been questioned about diabetes - I always check my BG BEFORE starting out and stop regularly to re-check on long drives. Just be safe and always aware.
The only national restriction had been with operators of COMMERCIAL vehicles and just last month that restriction was lifted.

1 Like

Oh. OK. Thanks Dennis. I was told that there were driving laws for diabetics in every state so that’s why I asked.

If they ask about any issues that may affect your driving and you respond that you are a diabetic they may require you do be medically cleared every year.

Amanda @A, diabetes DOES NOT necessarily impact driving skills or ability.
I can honestly state that diabetes - and I’ve had diabetes for 60+ years and will be licensed to drive for 62 years in November - has never adversely impacted my ability to drive safely, without causing injury to myself or others.

Manage your diabetes properly and you can honestly answer “NO” to any question asking if your have an impairment.

1 Like

I feel as though this depends on your state and doctor. Im from Pennsylvania and 25 yet I have no license because having an a1c of 8 is uncontrolled. I’ve never passed out, had a seizure ect but I’ve been to 3 different doctor who have turned me down. No one else that I’ve talked to, controlled or not seems to have the issue I am having. They say I could be a danger to others on the road. I feel as though as long as your controlled and your doctor clears you diabetes isnt a huge factor.