College Life with T1 Diabetes

Hey Yall.. I am in need of some advice.. I graduated high school a semester early (Dec. 09) and have started my new life in the itty bitty town of Statesboro, Ga, the home of the Georgia Southern eagles. Well with my great big life change came some serious blood sugar changes.  With the stress of school and any typical college party i find it at time so hard to manage even with numberous shots and finger pricks!

any advice would be awesome!! Thank you!

Ally

I went through the same thing.. going from having few responsibilities in high school to a TON in college, I found my blood sugar was dropping quite often. I'd suggest talking with your doctor who might be able to adjust your insulin levels based on your schedule and activity level. I was on the pump when I started college which I found to be extremely helpful- managing my blood sugar seemed more predictable than when using shots. Have you considered an insulin pump? College can be a challenge.. even once you get comfortable in a routine, it seems to change once the semester (and class schedule) changes! Good luck!

Thank you so much for the advice!  I was on the deltec  cozmo pump for four years but in high school i was extremely lazy on it and found i had scar tissue in multiple places. I just find being a freshman wiht meal plans and the stress of school and all that hard and i take multiple shots a day :/ which im okay with just gets annoying at times.

but thanks again!!!!

At college you have to make time for being able to manage your glucose etc. I was dx'd freshman year so there was a big change from the 'all you can eat' freshman meal plan to the 'salad and chicken' diet, but it works. It just takes self control and responsibility...some kids even develop into responsible adults in college! So hey you've got that going for you!