Carbs per meal?

My son was diagnosed last November at age 17. He’s been super compliant and responsible about it, but it has also been super hard. I read some of Dr Bernstein’s book and I really appreciated education I found on Diatribe. Really love Adam Brown’s book, Bright Spots and Landmines. I am also a hospital nurse. For years now, I have take care of diabetic patients and seen the worst of what can happen when blood sugars run consistently high. My son heard many horror stories before he was diagnosed, and this has been sadly ironically motivating for him. I am amazed at those of you who have lived with diabetes for decades with little to no complications. I find you all kind of miraculous! I realize diabetes effects everyone a little differently, and some people will be more prone to complications even if they work super hard to keep their A1C down. Frankly, I learned so much about Type 1 after my son was diagnosed. The huge majority of diabetics in the hospital are Type 2. I don’t think most nurses really get Type 1 unless they study it independently or have a family member with type 1. Just my experience, but also scary to me for Type 1 patients. I work primarily with adult populations.
All diabetic patients in the hospital are put on consistent carb diets limiting their carbs per meal to a certain amount, usually 60. When my son was diagnosed his Endo Dr recommend limiting to 60 carbs per meal. My son has done this faithfully, but he is also hungry sometimes and gets burned out on free proteins. I’m wondering how many of you limit your carbs? I realize limiting carbs/meal was not a recommended practice for Type 1’s until recent years, although many have experimented with it on their own. Have many carbs are you eating per meal? How many per day on average?