Baby #2

I’m new to TypeOneNation. I have been a T1D for 21 years. When my husband and I decided to start trying for our first baby, my endo was okay with an A1C of 7.0. I had a very easy pregnancy, had A1Cs between 5.8 and 6.5 the whole time. My daughter was born at 34 weeks, spent 27 days in the NICU mostly with respiratory and feeding issues. She is a happy and healthy almost 2 year old now. My husband and I are thinking about baby #2, but this time I’ve done a lot more research and am getting my A1C to under 6.5 before starting. Does anyone have suggestions, tips, nutritional advice/plans they followed? Were there extra steps in your pregnancies that were taken to keep your baby in longer other than tight control?

@hollysexton15 hello Holly, please excuse me replying and I am unqualified for all matters in your question… except maybe blood sugars

for 6.5% A1c IMO, you’ll probably want to get a pump, a CGM, and adopt a low carb/slow carb diet. If you try to get a low a1c on MDI you may find a 6.5% means a lot of low blood sugars which can be dangerous.

cheers good luck on your next one and congratulations. 2 years old starts a new and very fun time

Thank you! I am on a pump and cgm. For the past 2 months I’ve been adjusting my diet to lower carbs, which has helped significantly!