Allergic to CGM filament

My 11-year-old son has been Type 1 for just over two years. He wears a Medtronic 670G pump and has tried to use the Guardian sensors, but he kept having allergic reactions to them. At first, we thought it was the adhesive, but we recently discovered that it is the filament itself that he’s allergic to. Now I’m wondering if there is any hope of him ever being able to wear a CGM. Does anyone know if the Dexcom and Medtronic filaments are made of the same materials? And are there any other CGM options for someone under 18?

I have found Dexcom’s tech support to be pretty solid. I asked some detailed questions about the structural strength of the transmitter and water ingress when used scuba diving (I am a structural engineer so I wanted more detail than "the part is certified to X, Y or Z). The tech transferred me to one of their design engineers, and they gave me exactly what I was looking for. Give them a call. If may take a couple of transfers, but if they know, you and your kiddo are better off.

@Brownbrie Welcome Brie to the JDRF TypeOneNation Forum! I hope that here you will read tips and suggestions to help [you and] your son live a long, healthy and productive while learning how to manage HIS diabetes [I’m 63 years into this ‘diabetes thing’ and still learning].

Dexcom is by far the leader in continuous body glucose level {BGL] sensing devices and I second the recommendation offered by Charles @mday that you speak with Dexcom technical staff - also speak with Medtronic so this “adverse event” can be logged and reported to the FDA.

Currently there are two other acceptable CGM systems available for use:

• FreeStyle Libre - manufactured by Abbott Laboratories.
  • Eversense - manufactured by Sensonics.