Airports and Needles

Hi, I am flying from Pennsylvania to California in a week and wanted to know what I should do to get through security without a hitch with all of my needles, insulin, etc. I do not have a pump, instead I use syringes and pens along with my cgm and glucometer.

Do I have to take out any of these supplies and put them in a separate bin (like you do with laptops)? Do I have to inform anyone of all of my materials? I was planning on placing everything in separate plastic baggies. Are there any best practices to avoid being held up?

Other questions:

When Iā€™m on the plane will my circulation get worse?

Should I inform anyone on the flight about my glucogon? I am new to Diabetes and I donā€™t think anything that bad will happen but I want to be cautious.

Kimberly,

I donā€™t have much time this morning so I will have to be very brief.

I have been wearing a pump for many years now. When I approach security at the airport I inform the first security official in the line that I have diabetes, wear a pump and have other sharps in my carry-on bag. I then ask what they need me to do. I sometimes get a full pat-down in a separate area, sometimes get a ā€œwandingā€ in front of ā€œgod and everybody,ā€ but always have to put my carry on luggage on the conveyor. Itā€™s really okay if your vial of insulin goes through the machine. But some TSA officials will allow you to carry it through security in your hand.

Make sure prescription items have a prescription label on the box/bag.

Believe it or not, TSA employees at different airports do things differently. So, I just approach security lines with a flexible and ā€œlaid-backā€ attitude and ā€œgo with their flow.ā€ Do as they instruct and youā€™ll be fine. But youā€™ll look a little ā€œrumpledā€ after the process is over - wear casual clothes if you can. I have had to ā€œalmostā€ undress a couple of times; once when I was wearing a suit with a vest.