My new Navigator - Wonder and Irony :)

Hey everyone!

I had made numerous attempts with Cigna to get a CGM, now I am have a different employer and a new endo and I tried for the CGM again.  I read the insurance company’s coverage position and made sure that I emphasized the points in my care that paralleled their requirements.  It was easy because they only really require hypo-unawareness and I have that in abundance. 

So I got it approved, ordered and shipped before the New Year.  Wow!  I could hardly believe it.  I had been chasing this technology for over two years and here it was, in my hands with one easy request.  I know the approval comes on the blood and tears of people like Gina who fought heavily with the insurance companies to recognize the need.

So, I have read the manual several time, read the trainer’s guide, done the online virtual tour and I figure I am ready so do the insertion and get started.  I do the insertion and (being excited and wanting to do everything right) watch my food and blood sugars very carefully to keep them even while I start.  I really want good results with this first sensor.  The Navigator requires a 10 hour warm up so I am excited to see my numbers staying on target the whole way.  Well… wait… did I say the whole way…  My insertion was done at 1:00pm.  At 9:00 I notice my sugar is creeping up a bit 130 – not horrible – I have an hour… a small correction dose should be okay… 9:30- 159 – ummmm – I gave insulin – no food… GRRR – “this is my first sensor!” my mind raced…  10:00 – calibration time – 172  - GAH! – more insulin and I calibrate- now I am getting readings and they are continuing to rise… I give another few doses – finally ending in my Pod (pump) alarming and letting me know (as though I wasn’t already guessing) it had failed.  WHY?!?!?!?   Why would these have to happen together???