Cinnamon?

Okay, i am sure this topic has probably come up before.  Cinnamon, yes or no?!  I have been hearing about the benefits of cinnamon on reducing or helping to maintain BG levels.  Also, I have noticed that even the vitamin isle has cinnamon capsules where the bottle itself is labeled claiming these benefits as well.  What is your take or experience?

I've heard of this from a few people, but I have no actual experience with regard to how well it works. I LOVE cinnamon, but I haven't tracked the effects of it when I eat it.

Might be something to try. :) I mean, after all, it can't hurt, right?

Yes, i have hear about it but never tried. Has anyone heard anything about passion fruit? I notice that when I eat or drink it, my BG goes low. I testes a few times by checking and not bolusing, and it goes down every time! One I was even a little high and it came back down to a normal level..

Figs, kiwi, kumquats, tangerines and passion fruit all have lower amounts of carbs than other fruits, but there should be some other reason that your blood sugars are dropping when you eat it. The only way you can absolutely guarantee that the fruit alone is causing the change is by stopping all bolus (some bolus insulins last for 4 hours after you take them), sitting in a chair, and eating one passion fruit. If your sugar drops then, I'd be extremely puzzled.

[quote user="Trevor"]

Figs, kiwi, kumquats, tangerines and passion fruit all have lower amounts of carbs than other fruits, but there should be some other reason that your blood sugars are dropping when you eat it. The only way you can absolutely guarantee that the fruit alone is causing the change is by stopping all bolus (some bolus insulins last for 4 hours after you take them), sitting in a chair, and eating one passion fruit. If your sugar drops then, I'd be extremely puzzled.

[/quote]